Basic Rules for Riding
- It is against state law to evade payment of bus fare or misuse transfers, passes, or tickets to avoid fare payment. Doing so is punishable by a fine of up to $250 (California Penal Code Section 640).
- California Penal Code Section 640 prohibits smoking; eating or drinking; and loud disturbances aboard a bus.
- Assaulting a transit passenger or operator is a crime punishable by imprisonment, a fine of up to $10,000, or both (California Penal Code Section 243.3). AC Transit will prosecute all incidents to the full extent of the law.
- Federal law requires that priority seats be made available to persons with disabilities and seniors.
- No smoking at bus stops in most cities or on buses.